About GWTA

Message from the President

The western United States hosts National Forests and other Public Lands in which a corridor runs from Canada to Mexico through the states of Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Utah and Arizona. The Great Western Trail (GWT) is more than just a trail. It is a corridor of paralleling route that accommodates all kinds of trail users and allows them all to access and enjoy our public lands. The diversity of terrain and natural wonders cannot be found along any other trail system. The GWT traverses lush alpine meadows and dry dusty deserts; rocky mountain ridge tops and carved sandstone canyons; and densely forested mountains and cactus covered deserts. With minimal new construction, the GWT links together existing trails ad roads to create a network of trails and passageways for horsemen, hikers, mountain bikers, skiers, snowmobilers and other motorized trail enthusiasts.

The GWT is designed to link together communities and bring economic opportunity to rural areas by allowing the trail user to easily access those communities and their resources. The GWT will connect the user to Points of Discovery that highlight the unique culture, history and traditions of the Old West.

The Great Western Trail Association is a non-profit corporation that represents the trail users. They coordinate efforts to develop, maintain, promote and designate the GWT through partnerships between federal, state and local land management agencies, as well as private businesses, property owners, individuals and user groups.

– Mike Browning, Executive Director, Great Western Trail Association

Association Leadership

National Organization
Mike Browning – President & Ex. Director
Deana Foster – Secretary
Gary Keller – Director
Sherm Hoskins – Director
Lee Foster – Director
Mike Titus – Director
Arizona State Chapter
Jane Doe – President
John Doe – Secretary
John Doe – Treasurer
Idaho State Chapter
Norman Ricks – President
Jay Larsen – Secretary
Barbara Smith – Treasurer
Montana State Chapter
Jane Doe – President
John Doe – Secretary
John Doe – Treasurer
Utah State Chapter
Jane Doe – President
John Doe – Secretary
John Doe – Treasurer
Wyoming State Chapter
Byron Baker – President
Dan Dockstader – Vice President
Robert Hood – Secretary
Mike Titus – Treasurer